Finalists of the 2017 Kreative Diadem Annual Creative Writing Contest

Finalists of the 2017 Kreative Diadem Annual Creative Writing Contest

Finalists of the 2017 Kreative Diadem Annual Creative Writing Contest

With the tranquil ending of 2017, the maiden edition of the Kreative Diadem Annual Creative Writing Contest gradually comes to a close. We organized the competition with the sole aim of inspiring originality and ingenuity in the creation of literary works. We focused on the emerging clan of young Nigerian writers because of their peculiar spot in the future of literature. Of course, we got more than we bargained for.


At the beginning, we were expecting a sprinkle of entries but we were handsomely rewarded with a massive shower of excellent pieces. Looking at the numbers, we received a total of 98 poems and 73 flash fiction stories. For the judges, it was a tough battle to sift the tares from the wheat. According to the judges, they were on the lookout for originality in the entries and they never settled until they found the spark.


As we anticipate the announcement of the top three winners that will be going home with cash prizes, we would like to unveil the list of the finalists for each of the categories. The finalists include the top 10 in no particular order. The name of the winners (top 3) will be released on Boxing Day, December 26, 2017.

Poetry Category

  1. Breast Cancer by Omobashorun Agbalagba
  2. A Bonfire on a Midsummer Night by Oluebube Ubah
  3. A Letter to Nabeelah by Abdurrahman Adedokun
  4. Little Boys are Large Exit Doors by Wale Ayinla
  5. Only a Child by Ikhenoba Deborah
  6. Lights Out by Chiamaka Nwangwu
  7. Black Woo Man by Olawale Ibiyemi
  8. An Installation of Memory by Anifowoshe Ibrahim
  9. Things Your Uncle Left Inside You by Stephen Ogunfoworin
  10. Adedamola by Saliu Fathia


Flash Fiction Category

  1. Charlotte by Jayeola Abdulhakeem
  2. A Thousand Words for Maggie by Paul Akaogu
  3. Stretched Silence by Okechi Okeke
  4. Imole by Olakunle Ologunro
  5. Let the Day Break by Chukwuebuka Ibeh
  6. No Peace for the Wicked by Ada Nnadi
  7. Possessed by Okoronkwo Ijeoma
  8. Racing Stars by Okhuosami Umar
  9. Innocent Justice by Atere Oluwatimilehin
  10. In Memory of Chris by Ene Ogaba


The top three winners will be contacted on December 26, 2017.

We want to use this opportunity to sincerely appreciate all those who took time to craft wonderful literary pieces and submitted towards the contest. You are all winners!

Our profound gratitude goes out to our highly esteemed judges for the maiden edition of this contest: Okwudili Nebeolisa and Su’eddie Vershima Agema. We are grateful for the immense gift of your time.

We would also like to appreciate our sponsor for this contest – Engr. Johnson Aina. Thank you for your invaluable contributions to making sure that the rare talent of young Nigerian writers is constantly celebrated.


Pin It on Pinterest